Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Mathematics 'Nobels' Announced in City of Pearls Tomorrow

It's actually called the Fields Medal named after Canadian Mathematician John Charles Fields. In 2006, Russian Grigori Perelman declined the award while the Mozart of Math picked up his.


akagugo said...

The first time an woman wins it.

akagugo said...

Less than 3 years later, and she's already gone...!

Sanjay Jagatsingh said...

Very sad. There's a beautiful article on her in the New Yorker.